Skip to content
Buff & Bead

Polishing and Paint Correction

The Best Glass Polish for Car Windows in 2026

Glass polish is for what a glass cleaner cannot shift: water spots, mineral buildup, wiper marks and light scratches. It is also the prep step before a glass coating.

By Sawyer V. · Last verified 2026-09-10

We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.

Buy 3D Glass Polish at $29.99 for 16oz: it is the only listing here that names its abrasive, cerium oxide, and it claims swirls, scratches, wiper marks and water spots. For coating prep on a budget, Adam’s Glass Polish Clarifier is $14.99.
#PickBest forScorePrice
1

Shine Supply Glass Polish Plus

Shine Supply

Water spots in direct sun7.6/10Sold direct, not on Amazon
2

P&S Clarity Creme Glass Polish

P&S Detail Products

Mineral buildup, by hand or machine6.6/10Check price on Amazon
3

Adam's Glass Polish Clarifier & Revitalizer

Adam's Polishes

Prepping glass for a coating6.3/10Check price on Amazon
4

3D Glass Polish

3D Car Care

Wiper marks and light scratches5.8/10Check price on Amazon
5

Gtechniq G4 Nanotech Glass Polish

Gtechniq

Coating prep in a small bottle3.4/10Check price on Amazon
Click any row to jump to the full write-up further down this page. The score is our arithmetic over published specifications, shown in full under each write-up.

No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

A windshield being polished with an applicator pad

What glass polish does that cleaner cannot

P&S describe the problem well: exterior glass collects water spots, mineral deposits, calcium and wiper residue that ordinary glass cleaners cannot remove. A glass polish takes those off mechanically or chemically, and 3D’s goes further and claims swirls and scratches too.

PolishPriceStated defectsApplicationNote
3D Glass Polish$29.99 (16oz)Swirls, scratches, wiper marks, water spotsNot statedCerium oxide
P&S Clarity Creme$29.73 (pint)Water spots, minerals, calcium, wiper residueHand or machinePrep for P&S VUE
Adam's Glass Polish Clarifier$14.99Water spots, stainsBy handAcidic; a few minutes on glass at most
Shine Supply Glass Polish Plus$20.00 (16oz)Stubborn water spots; chromeCloth or applicatorCan stain trim
Gtechniq G4$22.95 (100ml)Hazy buildup, embedded grimeHand or machineCoating prep
3D, Adam's and Shine Supply from their own stores; P&S and Gtechniq from The Rag Company. Retrieved 10 September 2026.

Scratches are a different claim

Only 3D claim scratch and swirl removal, with a cerium oxide polish that 3D say needs minimal elbow grease. The other four name spots, minerals, stains or grime. If your problem is wiper arcs or light scratches rather than mineral spotting, 3D is the only listing that says it will help.

The acid warning

Adam’s publish the most useful caution on this page: their polish is acidic and must not sit on glass for more than a few minutes. If the haze is stubborn, they say to dampen the towel and follow with glass cleaner. Shine Supply’s warning is about trim: keep Glass Polish Plus off window moldings, which it can stain, and clean any contact with an all-purpose cleaner.

Polish before a glass coating

Three makers write their polish as the step before protection. Adam’s say polishing first promotes clarity and the best bond for glass protection, P&S make Clarity Creme the prep for their VUE coating, and Gtechniq say G4 sets the stage for water repellency. The windshield coating roundup covers what goes on next.

What to buy

  • Wiper marks and light scratches: 3D Glass Polish, $29.99.
  • Hard water and mineral spots, by hand or machine: P&S Clarity Creme, $29.73.
  • Prep before a coating, cheaply: Adam's Glass Polish Clarifier, $14.99.
  • Working in the sun: Shine Supply Glass Polish Plus, $20.00.

Every pick, with the working

Each entry lists the specifications the maker publishes, the axis scores those specifications produce, and what you give up. Rows that read “Not published” are not omissions on our side: they are figures the maker will not commit to in writing, and they cost the product points on the transparency axis.

Our pickWater spots in direct sun

Shine Supply Glass Polish Plus

Shine Supply

7.6/10

$20.00 for 16oz, stated to remove stubborn water spots, restore chrome and work in direct sunlight, with a quick wipe-off and no residual dust. Shine Supply warn to keep it off moldings and trim, which it can stain.

Size
16 oz
Stated job
Stubborn water spots on glass; chrome
Sun
Formulated for direct sunlight
Warning
Keep off window moldings and trim
Abrasive
Not published

What it does well

  • Formulated for direct sunlight, per the maker
  • No residual dust, per the maker
  • Chrome as well as glass

Who it is not for

  • Can stain moldings and trim, per the maker
  • Scratch removal is not claimed; water spots are the stated job
  • Sold only through Shine Supply
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ounce10.0/10, weight 16%
$20.00 for 16 oz works out at $1.25 an ounce, scored against a band of $1.50 (good) to $7.00 (expensive) for a glass polish.
Price against the ceiling4.3/10, weight 14%
A listed $20.00 against the $35 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Shine Supply publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Shine Supply. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $20.00 per Shine Supply, 16oz, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Shine Supply sells this through its own channels. We have joined no Shine Supply program, so we earn nothing if you buy it there — which is exactly why it is still here.

Specifications from Shine Supply's Glass Polish Plus listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

Sold direct, not on Amazon#ad How we earn

2Mineral buildup, by hand or machine

P&S Clarity Creme Glass Polish

P&S Detail Products

6.6/10

$29.73 a pint, for water spots, mineral deposits, calcium and wiper residue, applied by hand or machine. P&S position it as the prep for their own VUE glass coating, which tells you where it sits: before a coating, not instead of one.

Size
1 pint (16 oz)
Application
Hand or machine
Stated contaminants
Water spots, mineral deposits, calcium, wiper residue
Stated pairing
Prep for P&S Inspiration VUE
Abrasive
Not published

What it does well

  • Hand or machine application, stated
  • Names calcium, mineral deposits and wiper residue
  • The stated prep step for P&S Inspiration VUE

Who it is not for

  • $29.73 a pint, near the top of this page
  • Scratch removal is not claimed
  • No abrasive named
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ounce9.3/10, weight 16%
$29.73 for 16 oz works out at $1.86 an ounce, scored against a band of $1.50 (good) to $7.00 (expensive) for a glass polish.
Price against the ceiling1.5/10, weight 14%
A listed $29.73 against the $35 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
P&S Detail Products publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by P&S Detail Products. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $29.73 per The Rag Company, pint, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from The Rag Company's Clarity Creme listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

3Prepping glass for a coating

Adam's Glass Polish Clarifier & Revitalizer

Adam's Polishes

6.3/10

$14.99, and written as a prep step: polish the glass before applying protection, for clarity and a better bond. Adam's publish that it is acidic and must not sit on glass for more than a few minutes, which is the most useful warning on this page.

pH
Acidic, per Adam's
Dwell limit
No more than a few minutes on glass
Application
By hand: hex grip applicator, microfiber applicator or cloth
Stated uses
Water spots, stains, coating prep, chrome
Size
Not published
Abrasive
Not published

What it does well

  • $14.99, the lowest bottle price here
  • Stated for water spots, stains and chrome as well
  • Hand application with an applicator or a microfiber cloth, stated

Who it is not for

  • Acidic; do not leave it on glass more than a few minutes, per Adam's
  • Size not stated on the listing
  • No abrasive named
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
Either the list price or the container size is unpublished, so the division cannot be done and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling5.7/10, weight 14%
A listed $14.99 against the $35 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Adam's Polishes publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency6.7/10, weight 18%
4 of the 6 specifications we went looking for are published by Adam's Polishes. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $14.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from Adam's Glass Polish Clarifier & Revitalizer page, compiled September 8, 2026.

4Wiper marks and light scratches

3D Glass Polish

3D Car Care

5.8/10

$29.99 for 16oz of a cerium oxide polish that 3D state removes swirls, scratches, wiper marks and water spots from automotive glass. It is the only listing here that names its abrasive.

Size
16 oz
Abrasive
Cerium oxide
Stated defects
Swirls, scratches, wiper marks, water spots
Application
Not published
pH
Not published

What it does well

  • Cerium oxide named as the base
  • Swirls, scratches, wiper marks and water spots all stated
  • 16oz at $29.99 is about $1.87 an ounce

Who it is not for

  • $29.99 is the highest bottle price here
  • No hand-or-machine guidance on the listing
  • No directions beyond minimal elbow grease
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ounce9.3/10, weight 16%
$29.99 for 16 oz works out at $1.87 an ounce, scored against a band of $1.50 (good) to $7.00 (expensive) for a glass polish.
Price against the ceiling1.4/10, weight 14%
A listed $29.99 against the $35 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
3D Car Care publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency6.0/10, weight 18%
3 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by 3D Car Care. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $29.99 per 3D Car Care's own store, 16oz, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from 3D Car Care's Glass Polish page, compiled September 8, 2026.

5Coating prep in a small bottle

Gtechniq G4 Nanotech Glass Polish

Gtechniq

3.4/10

Skip this one. At 100ml it works out at about $6.79 an ounce, and Gtechniq name hazy buildup and grime rather than water spots or scratches. Unless you are prepping for a Gtechniq glass coating, 3D's Glass Polish names all four defects for $29.99 a pint.

$22.95 for 100ml, for hand or machine polishing, aimed at hazy buildup and the embedded grime cleaners leave behind before a glass coating. At about $6.79 an ounce it is the most expensive glass polish here by volume.

Size
100 ml
Application
Hand or machine
Stated job
Hazy buildup and embedded grime; coating prep
Abrasive
Not published
Water spot claim
Not published

What it does well

  • Hand or machine, stated
  • Written for coating prep
  • $22.95 is a low price of entry

Who it is not for

  • 100ml works out at about $6.79 an ounce
  • Water spots and scratches are not named
  • No abrasive named
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ounce0.4/10, weight 16%
$22.95 for 3.38 oz works out at $6.79 an ounce, scored against a band of $1.50 (good) to $7.00 (expensive) for a glass polish.
Price against the ceiling3.4/10, weight 14%
A listed $22.95 against the $35 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Gtechniq publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency6.0/10, weight 18%
3 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Gtechniq. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $22.95 per The Rag Company, 100ml, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from The Rag Company's Gtechniq G4 listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

Questions people actually ask

+Does glass polish remove scratches from a windshield?
3D claim their cerium oxide polish removes swirls, scratches and wiper marks. The other four listings name water spots, minerals or grime rather than scratches.
+Can I polish car glass by hand?
Yes. Adam’s publish a hand method with an applicator or a microfiber cloth, and P&S and Gtechniq both state hand or machine.
+Should I polish glass before a glass coating?
Adam’s, P&S and Gtechniq all position their polish as the prep step before glass protection.

Where these figures came from

Every figure on this page is a published manufacturer or authorized-retailer claim, not a measurement we made. How we research explains exactly what we did and did not do.

Read next

More from Polishing and Paint Correction

Every page in Polishing and Paint Correction

Or start with how we research, which explains what every number on this site is and is not.