Skip to content
Buff & Bead

Polishing and Paint Correction

The Best Polishing Pads for Mini Polishers in 2026

A mini polisher is only as good as the small pads on it. These eight run from 3 to 3.75 inches across and from $6.99 a pad, and they differ in cut, face design and how much the maker tells you about fit.

By Sawyer V. · Last verified 2026-09-10

We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.

Buy McKee’s Redline 3.75 inch pads at $6.99 each: the orange polishing pad for light swirls and the yellow cutting pad for deeper ones, both stated for a 3 inch backing plate. For microfiber cut, the Buff and Shine Uro-Fiber pads are $20 for two and the only ones here with a published thickness.
#PickBest forScorePrice
1

Redline 3.75 Inch Orange Foam Polishing Pad

Redline

Light swirls on delicate paint9.4/10Check price on Amazon
2

Redline 3.75 Inch Yellow Foam Cutting Pad

Redline

The cheapest small cutting pad9.4/10Check price on Amazon
3

Buff and Shine Uro-Fiber 3 Inch Microfiber Cutting Pad (2 Pack)

Buff and Shine

Microfiber cutting on a small DA8.2/10Check price on Amazon
4

RUPES D-A Fine Foam Yellow Polishing Pad (3 Inch)

RUPES

One pad for polishing and finishing7.9/10Check price on Amazon
5

RUPES D-A Coarse Foam Blue Pad (3 Inch)

RUPES

Foam cutting on a small machine7.9/10Check price on Amazon
6

3D 3 Inch White Wool Cutting Pad

3D

Rotary cutting after sanding6.8/10Check price on Amazon
7

3D 3.5 Inch Light Purple Spider-Cut Foam Polishing Pad (2 Pack)

3D

One pad from light cut to finishing6.7/10Check price on Amazon
8

3D 3.5 Inch Dark Purple Spider-Cut Foam Cutting Pad (2 Pack)

3D

Cutting with a cooler pad face6.7/10Check price on Amazon
Click any row to jump to the full write-up further down this page. The score is our arithmetic over published specifications, shown in full under each write-up.

No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

Foam and microfiber polishing pads beside a polisher and two compound bottles

Pad size and plate size are different numbers

In the two listings that give both, the pad is wider than the plate. McKee’s sell their 3.75 inch Redline pads for a 3 inch backing plate, and Buff and Shine list the Uro-Fiber with a 3 inch loop diameter and a 3.5 inch face. RUPES and 3D do not state a plate size for their small pads, so check the plate on your machine before you order.

PadPricePer padSizeStated plateJob
Redline Orange Polishing$6.99$6.993.75 in3 inLight swirls
Redline Yellow Cutting$6.99$6.993.75 in3 inDeeper swirls, scratches, oxidation
RUPES D-A Fine Foam$7.99$7.993 inNot statedPolishing and finishing
RUPES D-A Coarse Foam$7.99$7.993 inNot statedMild to severe defects
Buff and Shine Uro-Fiber (2)$20.00$10.003.5 in face3 inMicrofiber cutting
3D Light Purple Spider-Cut (2)$24.99About $12.503.5 inNot statedLight cut to finishing
3D Dark Purple Spider-Cut (2)$24.99About $12.503.5 inNot statedCutting
3D White Wool$19.99Pack not stated3 inNot statedRotary cutting
Redline from McKee's 37, RUPES from Adam's Polishes, Uro-Fiber from Shine Supply, 3D from their own store. Retrieved 10 September 2026.

Cutting, polishing and finishing

Each maker splits the job its own way. McKee’s sell a yellow pad for cutting and an orange one for polishing. RUPES do the same with blue coarse and yellow fine foam, and call the fine pad the most versatile in their BigFoot range. 3D say most jobs need only three pads, dark purple for cutting, light purple for polishing and black for finishing, and sell the black 3.5 inch pad at the same $24.99 for two.

Spider-cuts and bevels

3D cut slots across the face of their pads, and say the slots flex to trap compound for longer work time and let air through, keeping the pad face cooler so it does not bowl in. Buff and Shine put a cutting-edge bevel on the Uro-Fiber and fix it with heat-resistant adhesive, and they are the only maker here to publish a thickness: 0.375 inch.

The wool vs foam guide covers the trade-off on full-size machines.

What to buy

  • Most mini polisher work: Redline Orange Polishing Pad, $6.99.
  • Deeper swirls on a small panel: Redline Yellow Cutting Pad, $6.99, or RUPES D-A Coarse Foam, $7.99.
  • Microfiber cut: Buff and Shine Uro-Fiber, $20 for two.
  • One pad that polishes and finishes: RUPES D-A Fine Foam, $7.99, or 3D's light purple spider-cut, $24.99 for two.

For the machine itself, see the mini polisher roundup; for full-size pads, the polishing pad roundup.

Every pick, with the working

Each entry lists the specifications the maker publishes, the axis scores those specifications produce, and what you give up. Rows that read “Not published” are not omissions on our side: they are figures the maker will not commit to in writing, and they cost the product points on the transparency axis.

Our pickLight swirls on delicate paint

Redline 3.75 Inch Orange Foam Polishing Pad

Redline

9.4/10

$6.99 for a 3.75 inch pad for a 3 inch backing plate, in a dense European open-cell foam that McKee's say removes light swirl marks without marring or hazing delicate paint. They pair it with their Complete Swirl Remover or FINISHER Polish.

Face
3.75 inch
Backing plate
3 inch
Foam
Dense European open-cell
Stated uses
Light swirl marks and other paint defects

What it does well

  • $6.99 a pad
  • States a 3 inch backing plate
  • Written for delicate paint, per McKee's

Who it is not for

  • Sold singly
  • No thickness published
  • Light defects only
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling8.6/10, weight 14%
A listed $6.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Redline publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency10.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 4 specifications we went looking for are published by Redline. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $6.99 per McKee's 37, one pad, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from McKee's 37's Redline Orange listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

2The cheapest small cutting pad

Redline 3.75 Inch Yellow Foam Cutting Pad

Redline

9.4/10

$6.99 for a 3.75 inch pad for a 3 inch backing plate, in a firm, sharp open-cell foam that McKee's say removes deeper swirl marks, scratches and oxidation. They pair it with their BEAST Compound.

Face
3.75 inch
Backing plate
3 inch
Foam
Firm, sharp open-cell
Stated uses
Deeper swirl marks, scratches, oxidation

What it does well

  • $6.99 a pad
  • States a 3 inch backing plate
  • Also sold in McKee's Spot Buff drill kit

Who it is not for

  • Sold singly
  • No thickness published
  • Written around McKee's own BEAST Compound
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling8.6/10, weight 14%
A listed $6.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Redline publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency10.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 4 specifications we went looking for are published by Redline. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $6.99 per McKee's 37, one pad, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from McKee's 37's Redline Yellow listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

3Microfiber cutting on a small DA

Buff and Shine Uro-Fiber 3 Inch Microfiber Cutting Pad (2 Pack)

Buff and Shine

8.2/10

$20 for two microfiber cutting pads for dual action polishers with a 3 inch backing plate: a 3.5 inch face, a blueberry foam interface, a beveled edge, heat-resistant adhesive and a published 0.375 inch thickness.

Face
3.5 inch
Backing plate
3 inch
Thickness
0.375 inch
Interface
Blueberry foam
Edge
Cutting edge bevel

What it does well

  • The only pad here with a published thickness
  • States a 3 inch backing plate
  • Heat-resistant adhesive, per the maker

Who it is not for

  • $10 a pad
  • Designed for dual action polishers, not rotaries
  • One cut level in this listing
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling6.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $20.00 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Buff and Shine publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency10.0/10, weight 18%
5 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Buff and Shine. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $20.00 per Shine Supply, two-pack, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from Shine Supply's Uro-Fiber listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

4One pad for polishing and finishing

RUPES D-A Fine Foam Yellow Polishing Pad (3 Inch)

RUPES

7.9/10

$7.99 for one 3 inch pad, which RUPES call the most versatile foam pad in their BigFoot range: an effective rate of defect removal and high-gloss finishing on most paint systems, made for random orbital and gear-driven tools.

Size
3 inch (also 5 and 6 inch)
Foam
Fine, yellow
Stated tools
Random orbital and gear-driven
Backing plate
Not published

What it does well

  • Made for random orbital and gear-driven tools
  • Polishing and finishing in one pad, per RUPES
  • The same pad also comes in 5 and 6 inch

Who it is not for

  • Sold singly
  • No backing plate size stated for the 3 inch
  • RUPES pair it with their own DA Fine compound
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling8.4/10, weight 14%
A listed $7.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
RUPES publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency7.5/10, weight 18%
3 of the 4 specifications we went looking for are published by RUPES. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $7.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, 3 inch, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from Adam's Polishes' RUPES D-A Fine listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

5Foam cutting on a small machine

RUPES D-A Coarse Foam Blue Pad (3 Inch)

RUPES

7.9/10

$7.99 for one 3 inch pad in RUPES' open-cell coarse foam, which they say removes mild to severe defects from most paint systems. RUPES recommend it with a compound, on random orbital or gear-driven tools.

Size
3 inch (also 5 and 6 inch)
Foam
Coarse open-cell, blue
Stated tools
Random orbital and gear-driven
Backing plate
Not published

What it does well

  • Removes mild to severe defects, per RUPES
  • Made for random orbital and gear-driven tools
  • Same price as the fine pad

Who it is not for

  • Sold singly
  • No backing plate size stated for the 3 inch
  • Recommended with a compound, not a polish
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling8.4/10, weight 14%
A listed $7.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
RUPES publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency7.5/10, weight 18%
3 of the 4 specifications we went looking for are published by RUPES. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $7.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, 3 inch, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from Adam's Polishes' RUPES D-A Coarse listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

6Rotary cutting after sanding

3D 3 Inch White Wool Cutting Pad

3D

6.8/10

Skip this one. 3D write it for rotary polishers, and say any wool step should be followed with a foam pad to clear the holograms the fibers leave. On a small dual action machine, RUPES' coarse foam at $7.99 or the Uro-Fiber microfiber pads at $20 for two do the cutting.

$19.99 for a 3 inch Australian lambswool cutting pad that 3D write for rotary polishers, as the first step after sanding or for deep swirls, scratches and oxidation, always followed by a foam step.

Size
3 inch
Material
Australian lambswool
Stated tool
Rotary polisher
Backing plate
Not published

What it does well

  • Non-linting, per 3D
  • Wool cuts faster than foam, per 3D
  • A shallower hologram pattern than other wool, per 3D

Who it is not for

  • Written for rotary polishers
  • Needs a foam step after, per 3D
  • Pack size not stated
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling6.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $19.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
3D publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency7.5/10, weight 18%
3 of the 4 specifications we went looking for are published by 3D. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $19.99 per 3D Car Care's own store, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from 3D Car Care's white wool pad listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

7One pad from light cut to finishing

3D 3.5 Inch Light Purple Spider-Cut Foam Polishing Pad (2 Pack)

3D

6.7/10

$24.99 for two 3.5 inch polishing pads that start a tick firm and soften in use. 3D say the one pad covers light cutting, medium polishing and fine finishing, depending on the product you pair it with.

Size
3.5 inch
Pack
2
Face
Slotted spider-cut
Stated range
Light cutting, medium polishing, fine finishing
Backing plate
Not published

What it does well

  • Two pads per pack
  • Light cut to finishing by changing the product, per 3D
  • Spider-cut face for cooler running, per 3D

Who it is not for

  • About $12.50 a pad
  • No backing plate size stated
  • Written around 3D's own compounds and polishes
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling5.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $24.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
3D publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by 3D. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $24.99 per 3D Car Care's own store, two-pack, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from 3D Car Care's light purple pad listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

8Cutting with a cooler pad face

3D 3.5 Inch Dark Purple Spider-Cut Foam Cutting Pad (2 Pack)

3D

6.7/10

$24.99 for two 3.5 inch cutting pads in a sharp, coarse foam, with slotted spider-cuts that 3D say trap compound for longer work time and let air through, to keep the pad face from bowling in.

Size
3.5 inch
Pack
2
Face
Slotted spider-cut
Foam
Sharp, coarse open-cell
Backing plate
Not published

What it does well

  • Two pads per pack
  • Spider-cut face for cooler running, per 3D
  • Open-cell foam 3D say resists tearing

Who it is not for

  • About $12.50 a pad, the most per pad here
  • No backing plate size stated
  • 3D say their own wool pads cut faster
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling5.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $24.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
3D publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by 3D. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $24.99 per 3D Car Care's own store, two-pack, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from 3D Car Care's dark purple pad listing, compiled September 8, 2026.

No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

Questions people actually ask

+What size pads does a mini polisher use?
It depends on the backing plate. McKee’s sell 3.75 inch Redline pads for a 3 inch plate, and Buff and Shine list a 3.5 inch face on a 3 inch plate. RUPES and 3D do not state a plate for their small pads, so match the pad to the plate your machine ships with.
+Can I use small polishing pads on a drill?
McKee’s sell four of their 3.75 inch Redline pads in the Spot Buff kit, $39.99, with a 3 inch backing plate that fits a standard household drill. The drill attachment roundup covers the rest.
+Do I need a cutting pad and a polishing pad?
Most makers here sell them as a pair: McKee’s yellow and orange, RUPES blue and yellow. 3D say most jobs need three: dark purple for cutting, light purple for polishing and black for finishing.

Where these figures came from

Every figure on this page is a published manufacturer or authorized-retailer claim, not a measurement we made. How we research explains exactly what we did and did not do.

Read next

More from Polishing and Paint Correction

Every page in Polishing and Paint Correction

Or start with how we research, which explains what every number on this site is and is not.