Skip to content
Buff & Bead

Polishing and Paint Correction

Wool vs Foam Polishing Pads

Wool is the fast-cutting pad makers reach for when foam will not remove the defect. Foam is the pad most cars need, and it comes in graded cuts that wool does not.

By Sawyer V. · Last verified 2026-09-10

We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.

Foam for most cars; wool when foam will not remove the defect. Adam’s and RUPES both sell their wool pads for the heaviest step, deep scratches and severe defects, used with a compound. Foam comes in graded cuts instead, like Lake Country’s blue cutting, orange polishing and black finishing HDO pads.
#PickBest forScorePrice
1

Adam's Heavy Cutting Wool Pad

Adam's Polishes

Deep scratches on hard clear coat7.6/10Check price on Amazon
2

RUPES D-A Coarse Blue Wool Pad

RUPES

Wool cut on a dual action machine8.7/10Check price on Amazon
3

Lake Country HDO Foam Pads

Lake Country

Thin foam, cooler running, color-coded cut7.1/10Check price on Amazon
4

RUPES D-A Intermediate Aqua Foam Pad

RUPES

The pad to own if you are only owning one6.3/10Check price on Amazon
Click any row to jump to the full write-up further down this page. The score is our arithmetic over published specifications, shown in full under each write-up.

No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

A wool polishing pad and a foam polishing pad side by side

Side by side

Adam's Heavy Cutting WoolRUPES D-A Coarse WoolLake Country HDORUPES D-A Aqua
Material100% pure fine wool, short pileWool on a rigid blue foam backingFoamFoam
Price, 5 to 5.5 in$14.99$14.99Not published$9.99
Stated useDeep scratches, hard clear coatSevere defect removalBlue cut, orange polish, black finishBetween RUPES' fine and coarse foam
Heat10mm foam cushion spreads heatNot published10% cooler than traditional foam, claimedNot published
Tools namedNot statedRandom orbital, gear-driven, triple actionNot publishedRandom orbital, gear-driven
Adam's and RUPES wool pads from Adam's Polishes' store, retrieved 10 September 2026; RUPES Aqua from Adam's and Lake Country from its own site, retrieved 8 September 2026.

Wool is sold for the heaviest step

Both wool pads here are positioned the same way. Adam’s say their Heavy Cutting Wool Pad, with their compound, is for deep scratches and hard clear coats; RUPES sell the D-A Coarse Blue Wool for severe defect removal and recommend it with a compound. RUPES also sell a medium yellow wool with a softer backing for moderate defects and better finishing, which tells you where the makers think wool belongs: at the cutting end.

Foam comes in grades

Foam is sold as a ladder. Lake Country color-code the HDO range blue for cutting, orange for polishing and black for finishing, and RUPES place the Aqua between their fine yellow and coarse blue foam. That lets you step down the cut on the same machine without changing pad type, which is why foam is the default for most cars. Microfiber vs foam covers the third option.

Heat is the other difference

Adam’s build a 10mm foam cushion into their wool pad to spread heat and lengthen working time. Lake Country claim their HDO foam runs 10% cooler than traditional foam. Heat is what shortens a polish’s working time and, on thin paint, what does damage.

Wool on a dual action, and wool for rotaries

RUPES build their D-A wool for random orbital, gear-driven and triple action machines. Autofiber sell a synthetic wool pad with no foam backing for dual action polishers, and Shine Supply’s Dock Boss and Deck Hand wool pads are sold for rotaries. Buy the wool pad made for the machine you own; DA vs rotary covers the machines.

Who should use which

  • Most cars, light to moderate swirls: foam, starting with a polishing grade.
  • Deep scratches or very hard clear coat on a DA: RUPES D-A Coarse Wool with a compound.
  • Heavy cutting where heat is a worry: Adam's Heavy Cutting Wool, with its 10mm cushion.
  • After any wool step: a foam finishing pad and a finishing polish.

Every pick, with the working

Each entry lists the specifications the maker publishes, the axis scores those specifications produce, and what you give up. Rows that read “Not published” are not omissions on our side: they are figures the maker will not commit to in writing, and they cost the product points on the transparency axis.

Our pickDeep scratches on hard clear coat

Adam's Heavy Cutting Wool Pad

Adam's Polishes

7.6/10

$14.99 for a 3.5 inch two-pack or a 5.5 inch pad, $16.99 for 6.5 inch: 100% pure fine wool with a short pile over a 10mm foam cushion that Adam's say spreads heat to lengthen working time. Stated safe on single-stage, clear coat and gel coat.

Sizes
3.5 in two-pack ($14.99), 5.5 in ($14.99), 6.5 in ($16.99)
Fiber
100% pure fine wool, short pile
Backing
10mm foam cushion
Paint types
Single stage, clear coat, gel coat
Tool
Not published

What it does well

  • 100% pure fine wool, stated
  • 10mm foam cushion for heat dispersion, published
  • Paint types named: single stage, clear coat, gel coat

Who it is not for

  • Tool type not stated on the listing
  • Paired with Adam's Compound in the listing
  • No density or pile height figure
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling7.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $14.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
Adam's Polishes publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Adam's Polishes. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $14.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, 5.5 in, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from Adam's Heavy Cutting Wool Pad product page, compiled September 8, 2026.

2Wool cut on a dual action machine

RUPES D-A Coarse Blue Wool Pad

RUPES

8.7/10

$10.99 for 3 inch, $14.99 for 5 inch or $17.99 for 6 inch, built for random orbital, gear-driven and triple action tools and aimed at severe defect removal. RUPES explain the blue foam backing: more rigid and dense, so more of the tool's movement reaches the paint.

Sizes
3 in ($10.99), 5 in ($14.99), 6 in ($17.99)
Tools
Random orbital, gear-driven, triple action
Backing
Rigid, dense blue foam
Stated use
Severe defect removal, with a compound

What it does well

  • Tool types published: random orbital, gear-driven, triple action
  • Backing design explained
  • Three sizes
  • Sold alongside a medium yellow wool for less cut

Who it is not for

  • Recommended with a compound only
  • Severe-defect pad, so a finishing step follows
  • No pile height published
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling7.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $14.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
RUPES publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency10.0/10, weight 18%
4 of the 4 specifications we went looking for are published by RUPES. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $14.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, 5 in, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from Adam's listing for the RUPES D-A Coarse Wool Pad, compiled September 8, 2026.

3Thin foam, cooler running, color-coded cut

Lake Country HDO Foam Pads

Lake Country

7.1/10

Three sizes, 1 inch thick, in blue cutting, orange polishing and black finishing, with a 70-degree beveled edge and a stated 10% cooler running temperature. The thin foam is the design: less foam movement is less heat, and heat is what causes hazing.

Sizes
3.5 in / 5.5 in / 6.5 in
Thickness
1 inch
Cut levels
Blue cutting, orange polishing, black finishing
Edge
70 degree beveled
Heat claim
10% cooler than traditional foam
Density figure
Not published
List price
Not published

What it does well

  • Cut level published by color rather than left to the product name
  • 70-degree beveled edge published, which is what stops the pad rolling on an edge
  • Stated to run 10% cooler than traditional foam
  • Three sizes, 3.5, 5.5 and 6.5 inch

Who it is not for

  • No pore structure or density figure published
  • The temperature claim has no stated test method behind it
  • Thin foam conforms less on a heavily curved panel
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceilingdropped
The maker publishes no list price, so there is nothing to score here and the axis is dropped.
Written commitmentdropped
Lake Country publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency7.1/10, weight 18%
5 of the 7 specifications we went looking for are published by Lake Country. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

Specifications from Lake Country's HDO pad category page, compiled September 8, 2026.

4The pad to own if you are only owning one

RUPES D-A Intermediate Aqua Foam Pad

RUPES

6.3/10

$7.99 in 3 inch up to $10.99 in 6 inch, and RUPES positions it explicitly between the fine yellow and the coarse blue. Being told where a pad sits in its own maker's range is more useful than any adjective about cut.

Sizes
3 in / 5 in / 6 in
Position in range
Between D-A Fine (yellow) and D-A Coarse (blue)
Tool compatibility
Random orbital and gear-driven
Thickness
Not published
Density
Not published
Stated pad life
Not published

What it does well

  • Position in the range published: between D-A Fine yellow and D-A Coarse blue
  • Stated for both random orbital and gear-driven tools
  • Three sizes from 3 to 6 inch, all under $11

Who it is not for

  • No thickness or density published
  • Locked into RUPES' own color system, which does not map onto anyone else's
  • No stated pad life
How this score was calculated
Protection claimdropped
Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
Capabilitydropped
No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
Cost per ouncedropped
This is not a consumable, so cost per ounce says nothing useful and the axis is dropped.
Price against the ceiling8.0/10, weight 14%
A listed $9.99 against the $50 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
Written commitmentdropped
RUPES publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
Spec transparency5.0/10, weight 18%
3 of the 6 specifications we went looking for are published by RUPES. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.

List price $9.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, 5 inch, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.

Specifications from RUPES D-A Aqua pad listing at Adam's Polishes, compiled September 8, 2026.

No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

Questions people actually ask

+Is wool or foam better for cutting?
The makers sell wool for the heaviest cutting. Adam’s aim theirs at deep scratches and hard clear coat, and RUPES theirs at severe defects.
+Can I use a wool pad on a dual action polisher?
Yes, if it is made for one. RUPES build their D-A wool pads for random orbital, gear-driven and triple action machines, and Autofiber sell a wool pad for dual action polishers.
+Do I need a finishing step after a wool pad?
The makers sell wool for the cutting step with a compound, so plan a foam finishing pad and a finishing polish afterwards.

Where these figures came from

Every figure on this page is a published manufacturer or authorized-retailer claim, not a measurement we made. How we research explains exactly what we did and did not do.

Read next

More from Polishing and Paint Correction

Every page in Polishing and Paint Correction

Or start with how we research, which explains what every number on this site is and is not.