Polishing and Paint Correction
The Best Car Glaze in 2026
A glaze is the step between polish and protection, sold for depth and gloss. Some fill swirls and some claim to remove them, and these listings are unusually plain about which is which.
By Sawyer V. · Last verified 2026-09-10
We have not tested any of this. Everything below is compiled from published manufacturer specifications, and the arithmetic is printed so you can check it. This page carries affiliate links: if you buy through one we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not change the order of the picks. Full disclosure.
| # | Pick | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mothers California Gold Micro-Polishing Glaze Mothers | The cheap middle step of a wax system | 7.6/10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 2 | Adam's Brilliant Glaze Adam's Polishes | Show-day gloss that hides minor defects | 6.6/10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 3 | Chemical Guys Black Light Glaze Chemical Guys | Black and dark paint | 5.9/10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 4 | 3D AAT 505 Correction Glaze 3D Car Care | Light correction, gloss and wax in one pass | 5.2/10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 5 | Mothers Professional Hand Glaze Mothers | A hand glaze after machine polishing | 5.1/10 | Check price on Amazon |
| 6 | Mothers Professional Machine Glaze Mothers | Taking out compound haze by machine | 4.1/10 | Check price on Amazon |
No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.

Fill, correct or protect
The word glaze covers three different products here. Adam’s Brilliant Glaze and Chemical Guys Black Light fill minor swirls and scratches. Mothers’ Professional Machine Glaze and 3D’s AAT 505 claim to remove them: compound haze, fine scratches and swirls for Mothers, and light correction with no fillers for 3D. The other two Mothers glazes are gloss steps, one in their consumer wax system and one after their professional polish.
| Glaze | Price | Claims | Application | Durability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mothers Micro-Polishing Glaze | $12.99 (16oz) | Vibrance, depth, clarity | Not stated | Not published |
| Adam's Brilliant Glaze | $24.99 | Gloss; temporarily fills minor defects | Applicator or machine pad; buff by hand | Up to 2 weeks or more |
| 3D AAT 505 Correction Glaze | $24.99 (8oz) | Light correction, gloss, wax; no fillers | DA or rotary | Not published |
| Chemical Guys Black Light | $31.99 (16oz) | Fills minor swirls; UV protection | Not stated | Not published |
| Mothers Professional Hand Glaze | $27.21 | Shine and protection | By hand | Not published |
| Mothers Professional Machine Glaze | $37.69 | Removes compound haze, fine scratches, swirls | Machine | Not published |
Filling is honest, if temporary
Adam’s are direct about it: the new Brilliant Glaze has filling properties that temporarily mask imperfections when polishing did not remove them, and it lasts about twice as long as the old formula, up to two weeks or more. Chemical Guys say Black Light fills minor swirls and reduces the appearance of scratches. Either way the swirls are still there under the gloss; paint correction is what removes them.
Dark paint is the target
Three of these single out dark colors. Mothers sell Micro-Polishing Glaze for flawless reflectivity especially on dark colors, Chemical Guys formulated Black Light for black and dark paint, and Adam’s say Brilliant Glaze takes black paint darker. For dark cars, the wax for black cars roundup covers what goes on top.
Not under a coating
If a ceramic coating is going on, the glaze comes off first. Adam’s say Proline PREP removes oils, fillers and polishing residue, and Gtechniq say Panel Wipe lifts oils and fillers; the panel prep roundup compares them. A filler-free product like 3D’s AAT 505 leaves nothing to strip except its wax.
What to buy
- Depth on a budget: Mothers Micro-Polishing Glaze, $12.99.
- Show day, minor defects hidden: Adam's Brilliant Glaze, $24.99.
- Black or dark paint, protection in the same step: Chemical Guys Black Light, $31.99.
- A machine owner who wants correction, not filler: 3D AAT 505, $24.99 for 8oz.
Every pick, with the working
Each entry lists the specifications the maker publishes, the axis scores those specifications produce, and what you give up. Rows that read “Not published” are not omissions on our side: they are figures the maker will not commit to in writing, and they cost the product points on the transparency axis.
Our pickThe cheap middle step of a wax system
Mothers California Gold Micro-Polishing Glaze
Mothers
$12.99 for 16oz, the middle step of Mothers' three-step Ultimate Wax System between Pure Polish and carnauba wax, sold for vibrance, depth and clarity, especially on dark colors. It is the cheapest glaze here by a distance.
- Size
- 16 oz
- Position
- Step 2 of the Ultimate Wax System
- Stated effect
- Vibrance, depth, clarity; especially dark colors
- Durability
- Not published
- Directions
- Not published
What it does well
- $12.99 for 16oz, about $0.81 an ounce
- Written for dark colors in particular
- Gallon sold for $76.65
Who it is not for
- Designed as step two of three
- No durability stated
- No directions on the listing
How this score was calculated
- Protection claimdropped
- Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Capabilitydropped
- No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
- Cost per ounce10.0/10, weight 16%
- $12.99 for 16 oz works out at $0.81 an ounce, scored against a band of $0.80 (good) to $4.00 (expensive) for a glaze.
- Price against the ceiling7.1/10, weight 14%
- A listed $12.99 against the $45 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
- Written commitmentdropped
- Mothers publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
- Spec transparency6.0/10, weight 18%
- 3 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Mothers. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.
List price $12.99 per Mothers' own store, 16oz, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
Specifications from Mothers' Micro-Polishing Glaze page, compiled September 8, 2026.
2Show-day gloss that hides minor defects
Adam's Brilliant Glaze
Adam's Polishes
$24.99 for a glaze that goes on paint, glass, chrome or polished aluminum, hazes quickly and buffs off by hand. Adam's say the new formula lasts about twice as long as the old one, up to two weeks or more, and fills minor defects that polishing did not remove.
- Stated durability
- Up to 2 weeks or more
- Surfaces
- Paint, glass, chrome, polished aluminum
- Application
- Applicator or machine pad; buff off by hand
- Filling
- Temporarily masks minor defects
- Origin
- Made in the USA
- Size
- Not published
What it does well
- Durability stated: up to two weeks or more
- Filling stated plainly, which is honest about what a glaze does
- Paint, glass, chrome and polished aluminum
Who it is not for
- Two weeks is short, and Adam's say so
- The filling is temporary, per Adam's
- Size not stated on the listing
How this score was calculated
- Protection claimdropped
- Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Capabilitydropped
- No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
- Cost per ouncedropped
- Either the list price or the container size is unpublished, so the division cannot be done and the axis is dropped.
- Price against the ceiling4.4/10, weight 14%
- A listed $24.99 against the $45 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
- Written commitmentdropped
- Adam's Polishes publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
- Spec transparency8.3/10, weight 18%
- 5 of the 6 specifications we went looking for are published by Adam's Polishes. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.
List price $24.99 per Adam's Polishes' own store, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
Specifications from Adam's Brilliant Glaze page, compiled September 8, 2026.
3Black and dark paint
Chemical Guys Black Light Glaze
Chemical Guys
$31.99 for 16oz of a hybrid glaze for black and dark paint that uses micro-refined oils and gloss enhancers to fill minor swirls, and adds UV-inhibiting protection in the same step. It is a filler by design, and Chemical Guys say so.
- Size
- 16 oz
- Stated paints
- Black and dark colors
- Mechanism
- Micro-refined oils and gloss enhancers fill minor swirls
- Protection
- UV inhibitors; repels dirt
- Durability
- Not published
What it does well
- Written for black and dark paint
- Protection with UV inhibitors in the same step
- Fills minor swirls, stated
Who it is not for
- Fills rather than removes; the swirls are still there
- No durability figure
- $31.99 for 16oz, more than twice the Mothers glaze per ounce
How this score was calculated
- Protection claimdropped
- Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Capabilitydropped
- No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
- Cost per ounce6.3/10, weight 16%
- $31.99 for 16 oz works out at $2.00 an ounce, scored against a band of $0.80 (good) to $4.00 (expensive) for a glaze.
- Price against the ceiling2.9/10, weight 14%
- A listed $31.99 against the $45 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
- Written commitmentdropped
- Chemical Guys publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
- Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
- 4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Chemical Guys. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.
List price $31.99 per Chemical Guys' own store, 16oz, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
Specifications from Chemical Guys' Black Light page, compiled September 8, 2026.
4Light correction, gloss and wax in one pass
3D AAT 505 Correction Glaze
3D Car Care
$24.99 for 8oz of a silicone-free, filler-free glaze that 3D say lightly corrects, polishes to a high gloss and seals with a protective wax in one step, on a DA for gentle work or a rotary for more. Filler-free is the unusual part for a product called a glaze.
- Sizes
- 8 oz ($24.99), 32 oz ($60.99), gallon ($109.99)
- Fillers
- None; silicone-free
- Stated role
- Light correction, gloss and a protective wax
- Machines
- Dual action or rotary
- Durability
- Not published
What it does well
- No silicones or fillers, stated
- Correct, polish and wax in one step, per 3D
- DA or rotary
Who it is not for
- 8oz for $24.99, about $3.12 an ounce
- No durability figure for the wax
- Machine use only; hand application is not mentioned
How this score was calculated
- Protection claimdropped
- Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Capabilitydropped
- No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
- Cost per ounce2.7/10, weight 16%
- $24.99 for 8 oz works out at $3.12 an ounce, scored against a band of $0.80 (good) to $4.00 (expensive) for a glaze.
- Price against the ceiling4.4/10, weight 14%
- A listed $24.99 against the $45 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
- Written commitmentdropped
- 3D Car Care publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
- Spec transparency8.0/10, weight 18%
- 4 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by 3D Car Care. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.
List price $24.99 per 3D Car Care's own store, 8oz, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
Specifications from 3D Car Care's AAT 505 page, compiled September 8, 2026.
5A hand glaze after machine polishing
Mothers Professional Hand Glaze
Mothers
$27.21 for a hand-applied glaze that Mothers recommend for added shine and protection after their Professional Foam Pad Polish, stated safe on all types of paint. The listing gives neither a size nor a durability figure.
- Application
- By hand
- Stated pairing
- After Mothers Professional Foam Pad Polish
- Stated safety
- All paint types
- Size
- Not published
- Durability
- Not published
What it does well
- Written for hand application
- Stated safe on all paint types
- Shine and protection both claimed
Who it is not for
- Size not stated in the listing text
- No durability figure
- $27.21 for an unstated amount
How this score was calculated
- Protection claimdropped
- Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Capabilitydropped
- No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
- Cost per ouncedropped
- Either the list price or the container size is unpublished, so the division cannot be done and the axis is dropped.
- Price against the ceiling4.0/10, weight 14%
- A listed $27.21 against the $45 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
- Written commitmentdropped
- Mothers publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
- Spec transparency6.0/10, weight 18%
- 3 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Mothers. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.
List price $27.21 per Mothers' own store, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
Specifications from Mothers' Professional Hand Glaze page, compiled September 8, 2026.
6Taking out compound haze by machine
Mothers Professional Machine Glaze
Mothers
Skip this one. It is written for machine application, costs $37.69 with no stated size, and removes compound haze rather than adding gloss. If you are glazing by hand after a wash, Mothers' own Micro-Polishing Glaze is $12.99 for 16oz.
$37.69 for a polishing glaze that Mothers say quickly removes compound haze, fine scratches and swirl marks from refinish and factory paint. That makes it closer to a finishing polish than a filler; it and 3D's AAT 505 are the two glazes here that claim correction.
- Application
- Machine
- Stated removal
- Compound haze, fine scratches, swirl marks
- Stated paints
- Refinish and factory applied
- Size
- Not published
- Protection
- Not published
What it does well
- Compound haze, fine scratches and swirls named
- Refinish and factory paint both named
- Written for machine application
Who it is not for
- $37.69, the highest price here
- Size not stated in the listing text
- No durability or protection claim
How this score was calculated
- Protection claimdropped
- Nothing in this category is bought on how long it lasts, so the axis is dropped and the other weights are re-normalized.
- Capabilitydropped
- No single published number decides capability in this category, so the axis is dropped rather than invented.
- Cost per ouncedropped
- Either the list price or the container size is unpublished, so the division cannot be done and the axis is dropped.
- Price against the ceiling1.6/10, weight 14%
- A listed $37.69 against the $45 one upgrade in this category realistically tops out at. A list price captured on the compile date, not a live price and not what you will pay.
- Written commitmentdropped
- Mothers publishes no warranty term on this product's own page, so the axis is dropped. On a tool that is worth noticing, and it costs the product points on transparency instead.
- Spec transparency6.0/10, weight 18%
- 3 of the 5 specifications we went looking for are published by Mothers. Every blank row below is something the maker will not put in writing, and it costs the product points here.
List price $37.69 per Mothers' own store, captured on the compile date below. Not a live price and not what you will pay — the button is where the real number is.
Specifications from Mothers' Professional Machine Glaze page, compiled September 8, 2026.
No live price is currently verified, so every button here reads Check price rather than a number we cannot stand behind. Why we do it that way.
Questions people actually ask
+What is the difference between a glaze and a polish?
+How long does a car glaze last?
+Can I use a glaze before a ceramic coating?
Where these figures came from
- Mothers' Micro-Polishing Glaze page — retrieved 2026-09-10
- Adam's Brilliant Glaze page — retrieved 2026-09-10
- 3D Car Care's AAT 505 page — retrieved 2026-09-10
- Chemical Guys' Black Light page — retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mothers' Professional Hand Glaze page — retrieved 2026-09-10
- Mothers' Professional Machine Glaze page — retrieved 2026-09-10
Every figure on this page is a published manufacturer or authorized-retailer claim, not a measurement we made. How we research explains exactly what we did and did not do.